Location: One-Pillar Pagoda is on Chua Mot Cot Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi.
The One-Pillar Pagoda is a cultural and historic relic, one of the
attractive tourist spots in Hanoi with its unique architectural
In the past, One-Pillar Pagoda was located in Thanh Bao Village,
Quang Duc District in the west of Thang Long Citadel under the Ly
Dynasty. According to Dai Viet Su Ky Toan Thu (A Complete History of
Great Viet), the pagoda was built in the winter of 1049 under the reign
of King Ly Thai Tong who dreamt of seeing the Goddess of Mercy sitting
in a lotus throne and taking him to it. When waking up, the king told
mandarins about his dream and one of them thought that it was a bad
omen. Monk Thien Tue advised him to build a pagoda and a lotus-shaped
tower like what he saw in his dream. When the pagoda was inaugurated,
monks went around the pagoda and recited the Buddhist scriptures to pray
for longevity of the king. For this reason, the pagoda is also called
Dien Huu (long lasting happiness and good luck).
the Ly Dynasty, the pagoda was the site to hold an annual ceremony on
the occasion of Buddha Day - Vesak. In addition, on the 8th day of the
4th lunar month, the king and people visited the pagoda to participate
in Buddha-bathing and release ceremonies.
After being repaired
many times, the pagoda was destroyed by the French colonists in 1954. In
1955, the government has the pagoda rebuilt. The present wood pagoda is
in the shape of square with each side of 3m and a curved roof. It was
designed to resemble a lotus stretching up out of the square pond and
placed on a big stone pillar including two blocks which are connected
together skillfully. This stone pillar is approximately 4m high
(excluding the underground section) and 1.2m in diameter. The pagodaï¿½s
structure also shows the harmonious combination of imagination and
unique architecture with a system of wood beams that create the solidity
and beauty for the pagoda.
With its architectural and
historical values, the One-Pillar Pagoda was classified as a historical
relic on April 28, 1962. On May 4, 2006, it was recorded in the
Vietnamese Guinness Book as ï¿½The pagoda with the most unique
architecture in Vietnamï¿½.
It has become one of the most delightful architectural complexes in Hanoi,
attracting a large number of domestic and foreign tourists. The pagoda
is open daily from 8h00 a.m. to 5h00 p.m. Entrance is free.